Rocket Ismail joins fellow former Notre Dame All-Americans Aaron Taylor and Mark Bavaro on the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame ballot. (Tribune File Photo)

A trio of former Notre Dame All-America football players appear on the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

The National Football Foundation unveiled the ballot on Thursday, with tight end Mark Bavaro, offensive tackle Aaron Taylor and wide receiver/return specialist Raghib “Rocket” Ismail listed among the 75 FBS players and six coaches up for selection.

An additional 98 players and 31 coaches are up for the vote in the divisional ranks.

Once the ballots are submitted and tabulated, the NFF's Honors Court will deliberate and select the class. The announcement of the 2018 Class will be made Jan. 8 in Atlanta, in conjunction with the CFP National Championship.

Bavaro is on the ballot for the first time, Taylor for a third time and Ismail for the seventh straight year.

Notre Dame has the most inductees of any school, with 46 players and six coaches in the hall.

Among area Big Ten teams, Michigan garnered three spots on the 2018 ballot — quarterback Rick Leach, offensive tackle Jumbo Elliott and defensive back Charles Woodson. Michigan State was represented by running back Lorenzo White, kicker Morten Andersen and coach Darryl Rogers.

Indiana quarterback Antwaan Randle El appears, as do wide receivers Larry Burton and Taylor Stubblefield of Purdue.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.