Six Irish players appear on Nagurski, Outland Trophy watch lists


Mike Vorel
South Bend Tribune

Two more trophy watch lists were released on Friday, and Notre Dame was well-represented once again.

The watch list for the Nagurski Trophy, which honors the National Defensive Player of the Year, recognized four Irish standouts — senior defensive tackle Sheldon Day, senior cornerback KeiVarae Russell, graduate student linebacker Joe Schmidt and junior linebacker Jaylon Smith.

Three more Notre Dame players appeared on the watch list for the Outland Trophy, which honors the nation's top interior lineman — graduate student center Nick Martin, senior left tackle Ronnie Stanley and Day, who landed on both lists.

The watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award, which honors college football's top defensive back, will be released on Monday.

Notre Dame’s Sheldon Day (91) celebrates a stop during Notre Dame's Blue-Gold spring football game on Saturday, April 18, 2015, at the LaBar Practice Complex on the campus of the University of Notre Dame in South Bend. SBT Photo/ROBERT FRANKLIN