Cincinnati to induct Brian Kelly's 2009 football team into UC Athletics Hall of Fame

Tyler James
South Bend Tribune

The last Cincinnati football team Brian Kelly coached will be inducted into the University of Cincinnati James P. Kelly Athletics Hall of Fame.

The entire 2009 team, which finished with a 12-0 regular season record and lost in the 2010 Sugar Bowl, will be celebrated throughout the upcoming 2019 season, the school announced. Kelly and the rest of the team will be honored with an in-game recognition at Nippert Stadium when the Bearcats host Tulsa on Saturday, Oct. 19.

Kelly, whose Irish team will be on a bye week, will reportedly attend the game.

Notre Dame hired Kelly to be its head football coach after the Bearcats finished their 12-0 regular season. Current Irish offensive line coach Jeff Quinn served as Cincinnati’s interim head coach in the 51-24 loss to Florida in the Sugar Bowl.

Kelly ended his coaching three-year tenure at Cincinnati with a 34-6 record, trips to the 2009 Orange Bowl and the 2010 Sugar Bowl and two Big East Conference championships.

In April, Notre Dame announced it would host Cincinnati for a game at Notre Dame Stadium on Oct. 2, 2021.

Cincinnati's 2009 football team, which was led quarterback Tony Pike, left, and head coach Brian Kelly, will be inducted into the university's Athletics Hall of Fame.