Three Notre Dame football players earn spots on preseason watch lists

South Bend Tribune

Three Notre Dame players earned spots on preseason watch lists announced Monday morning.

Senior quarterback Everett Golson earned a spot on the watch list for the Maxwell Award, which goes to the nation's top player. Golson was Notre Dame's starting quarterback in 2012 but missed last season after being suspended from school for an academic matter.

Sophomore inside linebacker Jaylon Smith and junior cornerback KeiVarae Russell were named to the Bednarik Award watch list. The Bednarik goes to the defensive player of the year.

Smith earned Freshman All-America accolades after winning a starting spot as a true freshman. Russell, who came to ND as a running back but earned a starting spot at corner as a true freshman, is expected to anchor Notre Dame's secondary.

Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron won the 2013 Maxwell Award while Pittsburgh defensive lineman Aaron Donald was the Bednarik winner last season.

Watch lists for the Rimington Trophy (most outstanding center) and Mackey Award top (tight end) watch lists will be announced Tuesday.

Notre Dame quarterback Everett Golson (5) throws while outside linebacker Ishaq Williams(11) defends during Wednesday's spring practice at Labar Practice Complex. SBT Photo/GREG SWIERCZ
Notre Dame's KeiVarae Russell zeroes in on Temple's Ryan Alderman during last year's season opener. (SBT Photo/ROBERT FRANKLIN)
Notre Dame linebacker Jaylon Smith (13) pressures BYU quarterback Taysom Hill (4) during an NCAA college football game on Saturday, Nov. 23, 2013, at Notre Dame. (SBT Photo/JAMES BROSHER)