More preseason honors for Notre Dame football players

South Bend Tribune

Notre Dame football players Jaylon Smith and KeiVarae Russell on Thursday were named to the Nagurski Trophy preseason watch list. Irish defensive lineman Sheldon Day earned a spot on the Outland Trophy watch list.

The Nagurski is awarded to the nation's best defensive player while the Outland goes to the best interior lineman. Former Irish star linebacker Manti Te'o won the Nagurski following the 2012 season.

The preseason watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award will be announced on Friday.

Notre Dame defensive lineman Sheldon Day (91) and cornerback Bennett Jackson (2) pressure Michigan quarterback Devin Gardner (98) during an NCAA college football game on Saturday, Sept. 7, 2013, in Ann Arbor, Mich. (SBT File Photo/JAMES BROSHER)