Notre Dame releases FieldTurf designs

South Bend Tribune Report
ND Insider

All that’s left is the unveiling in August.

As Notre Dame continues work on the installation of FieldTurf inside Notre Dame Stadium, the university released details of the markings that will be included on the field.

The artificial turf will feature a combination of new and old designs for Notre Dame football’s playing surface. The new additions will be at midfield, where an interlocking ND logo will be set, and at each 35-yard line, where small green shamrocks will designate the spot for kickoffs.

The end zones will keep the traditional diagonal striping found on Notre Dame fields. Each end zone will include nine lines, which will be set at 42-degree angles toward the Basilica and the Golden Dome. The total number of end zone lines, 18, and the angle designation, 42, are meant to represent the year Notre Dame was founded, 1842.

"The interlocking ND is the most recognized symbol of our University and its athletics programs, and we wanted to communicate that to our fans and all those viewing our home games on NBC," Notre Dame athletics director Jack Swarbrick said in a statement.

"The integration of the shamrocks allows us to achieve consistency across all of our new or recently renovated facilities where both the interlocking ND and a shamrock have a presence on the playing surface.

"While being careful to maintain the look and feel of the original Rockne bowl, we are using this opportunity to make sure that every visual element of the field is carefully considered and helps to celebrate our University and its rich traditions.”

Notre Dame expects to start installation of the actual turf when it arrives next week. The first game on the new surface will be played on Aug. 30 in the season opener against Rice.

Golson makes watch list

Notre Dame senior quarterback Everett Golson received one of the 39 spots on the Davey O’Brien Award watch list. The award is given annually to the nation’s top college quarterback.

Last year’s winner, Florida State’s Jameis Winston, returns to the list alongside five semifinalists from last season: Brett Hundley (UCLA), Sean Mannion (Oregon State), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), Braxton Miller (Ohio State), and Bryce Petty (Baylor).

No Notre Dame quarterback has won the award since its founding in 1981. Golson is the latest of multiple Notre Dame players to be named to various watch lists this month.

• Bednarik (defensive player of the year): LB Jaylon Smith, CB KeiVarae Russell.

• Maxwell (player of the year): QB Everett Golson

• Mackey (top tight end): TE Ben Koyack

• Rimington (top center): C Nick Martin

• Groza (top kicker): K Kyle Brindza

• Nagurski (most outstanding defensive player): LB Jaylon Smith, CB KeiVarae Russell

• Outland (top interior lineman): DL Sheldon Day

• Lombardi (top offensive lineman, defensive lineman or linebacker): LB Jaylon Smith, C Nick Martin

• Butkus (top linebacker): LB Jaylon Smith, LB Jarrett Grace


Notre Dame released details of the markings to be featured on the new FieldTurf in Notre Dame Stadium (Graphic courtesy of Notre Dame).