Golson on Walter Camp list

Tribune Staff
ND Insider

Notre Dame quarterback Everett Golson joined 49 others players named to the 2014 Walter Camp Player of the Year preseason watch list on Friday.

The list, headlined by 2013 winner Jameis Winston of Florida State, included 16 quarterbacks. Four Notre Dame players have won the Walter Camp Award since its founding in 1967: tight end Ken MacAfee (1977), wide receiver Tim Brown (1987), wide receiver Raghib Ismail (1990), and linebacker Manti Te’o (2012).

The Walter Camp watch list ended a two-week run of preseason lists from the National College Football Awards Association. A number of Notre Dame players received mentions:

Bednarik (defensive player of the year): LB Jaylon Smith, CB KeiVarae Russell.

Maxwell (player of the year): QB Everett Golson

Mackey (top tight end): TE Ben Koyack

Rimington (top center): C Nick Martin

Groza (top kicker): K Kyle Brindza

Nagurski (most outstanding defensive player): LB Jaylon Smith, CB KeiVarae Russell

Outland (top interior lineman): DL Sheldon Day

Lombardi (top offensive lineman, defensive lineman or linebacker): LB Jaylon Smith, C Nick Martin

Butkus (top linebacker): LB Jaylon Smith, LB Jarrett Grace

O’Brien (top quarterback): QB Everett Golson

Notre Dame QB Everett Golson jokes around as he signals plays to backup QB Charlie Fiessinger during the Blue-Gold Spring Football Game on Saturday, April 12, 2014, at Notre Dame Stadium in South Bend. (SBT Photo/ROBERT FRANKLIN)