Three former Notre Dame players on College Hall ballot

ND Insider Staff Report
ND Insider

Three former Notre Dame football standouts are among the 75 players listed on the 2015 College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

Linebacker Bob Crable, wide receiver Thom Gatewood and wide receiver/kick returner Raghib Ismail have all appeared on the ballot before, and the hall of fame class will be announced Jan. 9, 2015.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been chosen first-team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for its consensus All-America teams, played their last year of college football at least 10 years prior, played within the last 50 years and be retired from playing professional football.

Crable was a consensus first-team All-American in 1980 and 1981 and still holds Notre Dame records for most tackles in a career (521), season (187 in 1979) and game (26 vs. Clemson in 1979).

Gatewood, a 1970 consensus first-team All-American, led the team in receiving three straight years (1969-71) and finished his career as the all-time leader in receiving yards (2,283) and receiving TDs (19).

Ismail, a consensus first-team All-American in 1989 and a unanimous pick in 1990, was the runner-up for the Heisman Trophy and Walter Camp Player of the Year Award in 1990.

Other notable names on the ballot are former Heisman Trophy winners Rashaan Salaam of Colorado, Ricky Williams of Texas and Eric Crouch of Nebraska, as well as standout Oklahoma linebacker Brian Bosworth, Southern Cal receiver Keyshawn Johnson and Kansas State coach Bill Snyder.

Rocket Ismail is one of three former Irish on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot, the others being Bob Crable and Thom Gatewood. (SBT File Photo)