Aaron Taylor among 3 Notre Dame players on College Hall ballot

ND Insider Staff Report
ND Insider

Three former Notre Dame standouts find themselves on the 2017 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, which was revealed Wednesday.

Former Lombardi winner and All-America offensive lineman Aaron Taylor of ND appears on the ballot for the first time, among 75 plays and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision. Receiver/running back/return standout Rocket Ismail and linebacker Bob Crable, the school’s all-time leader in tackles, return to the ballot.

The announcement of the 2017 Class will be made Jan. 6 in Tampa, Fla. The city is serving as the host for the CFP National Championship, which will be played Jan. 9 at Raymond James Stadium.

The 2017 class will be inducted at the 60th National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner, Dec. 5, 2017 in New York.

Former Notre Dame All-American Aaron Taylor (left), pictured here with ex-ND coach Charlie Weis in 2007, was named to the College Football Hall of Fame ballot on Wednesday. (Tribune File Photo)