Julian Love, three other Notre Dame players named to All-America teams

Carter Karels
South Bend Tribune

Notre Dame cornerback Julian Love fell short of college football’s Jim Thorpe Award, but he just came one step closer to unanimous All-American status.

The Associated Press and Football Writers Association of America named him first team All-America on Monday. The Walter Camp Football Foundation named Love to its first team All-America list last Thursday.

ND defensive tackle Jerry Tillery (second team) and linebacker Te’von Coney (third team) also garnered AP All-America honors. Center Sam Mustipher made the FWAA’s second team All-America list.

Now 3-for-3, Love can claim unanimous All-American status by being named to the first team by all five recognized lists. The American Football Coaches Association and the Sporting News are the other two lists. Because he has already secured majority recognition, Love will at least be a consensus All-American.

Georgia cornerback and Thorpe Award winner Deandre Baker made two of the three first team lists. FWAA named him to its second team. Love recorded 61 tackles, three tackles for loss, one interception, 15 pass breakups, three fumble recoveries and a touchdown across 12 regular season games.

Former Irish offensive guard Quenton Nelson was a unanimous All-American in 2017. He marked the first ND player to garner such status since Manti Te’o in 2012.

Tillery leads the Irish with eight sacks and also registered 30 tackles, 10.5 TFLs and three forced fumbles. Coney is ND’s leading tackler with 107 and also has nine TFLs, 3.5 sacks, one interception and a forced fumble.

Irish head coach Brian Kelly was named as one of six finalists for the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award on Monday. Syracuse’s Dino Babers, UAB’s Bill Clark, Washington State’s Mike Leach, Army’s Jeff Monken and Alabama’s Nick Saban are also finalists. The winner will be announced on Dec. 28.

Last week, Kelly took home Home Depot Coach of the Year honors for a third time. He’s also a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award and the Dodd Trophy.

The SN and AFCA lists will be announced on Tuesday and Wednesday, respectively.

The 2018 AP All-America team:



Quarterback — Kyler Murray, junior, Oklahoma

Running backs — Jonathan Taylor, sophomore, Wisconsin; Darrell Henderson, junior, Memphis

Tackles — Jonah Williams, junior, Alabama; Mitch Hyatt, senior, Clemson

Guards — Beau Benzschawel, senior, Wisconsin; Bunchy Stallings, senior, Kentucky

Center — Garrett Bradbury, senior, North Carolina State

Tight end — Jace Sternberger, junior, Texas A&M

Wide receivers — Jerry Jeudy, sophomore, Alabama; Marquise Brown, junior, Oklahoma

All-purpose player — Rondale Moore, freshman, Purdue

Kicker — Andre Szmyt, freshman, Syracuse


Ends — Clelin Ferrell, junior, Clemson; Sutton Smith, junior, Northern Illinois

Tackles — Quinnen Williams, junior, Alabama; Christian Wilkins, senior, Clemson

Linebackers — Josh Allen, senior, Kentucky; Devin White, junior, LSU; Ben Burr-Kirven, senior, Washington

Cornerbacks — Deandre Baker, senior, Georgia; Julian Love, junior, Notre Dame

Safeties — Grant Delpit, sophomore, LSU; Deionte Thompson, junior, Alabama

Punter — Braden Mann, junior, Texas A&M



Quarterback — Tua Tagovailoa, sophomore, Alabama

Running backs — Travis Etienne, sophomore, Clemson; Trayveon Williams, junior, Texas A&M

Tackles — Dalton Risner, senior, Kansas State; Andrew Thomas, sophomore, Georgia

Guards — Dru Samia, senior, Oklahoma; Michael Dieter, senior, Wisconsin

Center — Ross Pierschbacher, senior, Alabama

Tight end — T.J. Hockenson, sophomore, Iowa

Wide receivers — Tylan Wallace, sophomore, Oklahoma State; Andy Isabella, senior, Massachusetts

All-purpose player — Greg Dortch, sophomore, Wake Forest

Kicker — Cole Tracy, senior, LSU


Ends — Montez Sweat, senior, Mississippi State; Jachai Polite, junior, Florida

Tackles — Jerry Tillery, senior, Notre Dame; Gerald Willis III, senior, Miami

Linebackers — Devin Bush, junior, Michigan; David Long Jr., junior, West Virginia; Joe Dineen, senior, Kansas

Cornerbacks — Greedy Williams, sophomore, LSU; Byron Murphy, sophomore, Washington

Safeties — Taylor Rapp, junior, Washington; Amani Hooker, junior, Iowa

Punter — Mitch Wishnowsky, senior, Utah



Quarterbacks — Dwayne Haskins, sophomore, Ohio State

Running backs — Benny Snell, junior, Kentucky; Eno Benjamin, sophomore, Arizona State

Tackles — Andre Dillard, senior, Washington State; Cody Ford, junior, Oklahoma

Guards — Terrone Prescod, senior, North Carolina State; Chris Lindstrom, senior, Boston College

Center — Michael Jordan, junior, Ohio State

Tight end — Noah Fant, junior, Iowa

Wide Receivers — A.J. Brown, junior, Mississippi; David Sills V, senior, West Virginia

All-purpose player — J.J. Taylor, sophomore, Arizona

Kicker — Matt Gay, senior, Utah


Ends — Chase Winovich, senior, Michigan; Jaylon Ferguson, senior, Louisiana Tech

Tackles — Jeffery Simmons, junior, Mississippi State; Ed Oliver, junior, Houston

Linebackers — Paddy Fisher, sophomore, Northwestern; David Woodward, sophomore, Utah State; Te’Von Coney, senior, Notre Dame

Cornerbacks — Hamp Cheevers, junior, Boston College; Lavert Hill, junior, Michigan

Safeties — Andre Cisco, freshman, Syracuse; Jonathan Abram, senior, Mississippi State

Punter — James Smith, sophomore, Cincinnati


Selection panel: Rob Asmussen, Champaign (Ill.) News-Gazette; Matt Baker, Tampa Bay (Fla.) Times; Michael Barber, Richmond (Va.) Times-Dispatch; Matt Brown, The Athletic; Robert Cessna, Bryan-College Station (Texas) Eagle; Rece Davis, ESPN; Pat Dooley, Gainesville (Fla.) Sun; Scott Hamilton, WECT-TV (Wilmington, N.C.); Eric Hansen, The South Bend (Ind.) Tribune; Brian Howell,, Boulder (Colo.) Daily Camera; Rob Long, WJZ FM 105.7 The Fan Baltimore; Sean Manning, The Dominion Post (Morgantown, W.Va.); Conor O’Neill, Winston-Salem (N.C.) Journal; Soren Petro, 810 WHB Kansas City, Mo.; Keith Sargeant, NJ.Com/Star-Ledger; Jon Wilner, San Jose (Calif.) Mercury News.

Notre Dame cornerback Julian Love (27) defends on a pass to Stanford’s JJ Arcega-Whiteside (19), Sept. 29 at Notre Dame Stadium.