Notre Dame PF Bonzie Colson earns first team All-ACC men's basketball honor

NDI Staff Report
ND Insider

A breakout season has brought big recognition for Notre Dame power forward Bonzie Colson.

The league leader in double doubles for points and rebounds this season (18), Colson earned one of five spots on the All-Atlantic Coast Conference first team as announced Sunday by the league.

Colson led the league in rebounding at 10.4 per game. He became the first player under 6-foot-7, Colson stands 6-5, to lead the ACC in rebounding since former North Carolina standout Pete Brennan (UNC, 6-6) in 1958. Brennan averaged 11.7 rebounds and earned ACC player of the year.

It’s the second time in the last three years that Notre Dame has placed a player on the first team all-league squad. Former Irish guard Jerian Grant was a first team selection in 2015.

Colson finished third for league player of the year. Though Duke sophomore guard Luke Kennard was the only unanimous selection to the first team, North Carolina’s Justin Jackson was named the league’s best player.

Colson's Irish teammates V.J. Beachem, Matt Farrell and Steve Vasturia were honorable mention selections. Farrell also finished third for Most Improved Player, which went to Wake Forest’s John Collins.

Mike Brey finished third in ACC Coach of the Year voting.

• 2016-17 All-ACC honors

First Team: Luke Kennard, Duke; Justin Jackson, North Carolina; John Collins, Wake Forest; Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame; Donovan Mitchell, Louisville.

Second Team: Dwayne Bacon, Florida State; Dennis Smith Jr., NC State; Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech; Joel Berry II, North Carolina; London Perrantes, Virginia.

Third Team: Michael Young, Pittsburgh; Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson; Andrew White III, Syracuse; Davon Reed, Miami; Jayson Tatum, Duke

Honorable Mention: Kennedy Meeks, North Carolina; Matt Farrell, Notre Dame; Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech; Jerome Robinson, Boston College; Jonathan Isaac, Florida State; Seth Allen, Virginia Tech; Jamel Artis, Pittsburgh; V.J. Beachem, Notre Dame; Steve Vasturia, Notre Dame; Tyler Lydon, Syracuse

All-Defensive Team: Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech; Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia; Donovan Mitchell, Louisville; Davon Reed, Miami; Xavier Rathan-Mayes, Florida State; Matt Jones, Duke

All-Freshmen Team: Dennis Smith, NC State; Jonathan Isaac, Florida State; Jayson Tatum, Duke; Josh Okogie, Georgia Tech,; Ky Bowman, Boston College

Player of the Year: Justin Jackson, North Carolina

Freshman of the Year: Dennis Smith, NC State

Coach of the Year: Josh Pastner, Georgia Tech

Defensive Player of the Year: Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech

Most Improved: John Collins, F, Wake Forest

Sixth Man: Seth Allen, G, Virginia Tech

Notre Dame power forward Bonzie Colson earned first team All-ACC honors after leading the league in rebounding and double doubles (18). (AP File Photo/KARL  B. DEBLAKER)