Notre Dame track and field: Irish qualify 14 for NCAAs

Staff reports
ND Insider

Notre Dame’s men’s and women’s track and field teams concluded the third and final day of the NCAA East Preliminary meet at North Carolina A&T (Greensboro) with nine Fighting Irish securing their spot into the NCAA Championship.

Throughout the three-day contest, 14 Irish punched their tickets to the national meet. On the final day, Notre Dame racked up four top-three finishes and six top-10 finishes.

Jeremy Rae won the 1,500m with a winning time of 3:39.92.

The 4x400m team of Jade Barber, Michelle Brown, Margaret Bamgbose and Megan Yanik won the event with a time of 3:32.43. It was the fastest time set by the foursome this season and closed in on the school record (3:32.12) set in 2002.

Jade Barber additionally achieved a collegiate best in the 100m hurdles (third-13.00) and bettered her school record in the event after improving her time in the last two meets.

NCAA National Championship qualifiers:

4x400m (8th) 3:07.66 Brendan Dougherty, Patrick Feeney, Jarrod Buchanon, Chris Giesting.

4x400m (1st) 3:32.43 Jade Barber, Michelle Brown, Megan Yanik, Margaret Bamgbose.

Amber Lalla (4x400m-alternate)

Jade Barber (3rd) 100mH: 13.00.

Jeremy Rae (1st) 1,500m: 3:39.92

Kelly Curran (3rd) 1,500m: 4:16.09.

Rebecca Tracy (10th) 1,500m: 4:18.01.

Michelle Brown (6th) 400m: 52.55.

Margaret Bamgbose (12th) 400m: 53.00.

Patrick Feeney (14th) 400m: 46.93.

Megan Yanik (10th) 400mH: 58.66.

Alexa Aragon (5th) 3,000m Steeplechase: 10:04.77.