Irish fall to Heels in final

Staff reports
ND Insider

Luke Goldstock and Chris Cloutier tallied hat tricks and Stephen Kelly won 10-of-11 faceoffs in the fourth quarter as fourth-seeded North Carolina defeated third-seeded Notre Dame, 14-10, to claim the 2017 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship on Sunday at Koskinen Stadium in Durham, N.C.

The defending national champion Tar Heels, who entered the weekend needing two wins to finish the regular season above .500 and remain eligible for selection to the NCAA Tournament, defeated the top two teams in the country in the NCAA RPI en route to the championship.

The Tar Heels improved to 8-7, claiming the 13th title in program history and ninth in the tournament era. Both North Carolina and Notre Dame will find out their postseason fate when the selections are announced at 9 p.m. on Sunday, May 7, on ESPNU.

The 8-4 Irish received three points apiece from sophomore attackman Brendan Gleason (three goals) and freshman midfielder Bryan Costabile (two goals and an assist).

Sophomore attackman Ryder Garnsey added two points on one goal and one assist. Pierre Byrne, Brian Willetts, Robert Collins and Drew Schantz each added a goal in the final.

Notre Dame placed four players on the 12-man ACC All-Tournament Team on Sunday. Receiving the honors for Notre Dame were John Sexton, Shane Doss, Bryan Costabile and Brendan Gleason.

Junior long stick midfielder John Sexton caused a career-high four turnovers in the game, which equal the most any Notre Dame player has recorded in 2017.