Notre Dame's Morris is Big Ten's Player of the Year

Tribune Staff Report
ND Insider

The Big Ten Conference announced Tuesday that four members of No. 3 Notre Dame’s regular-season championship hockey team, led by goaltender Cale Morris, were selected for postseason honors by the conference coaches and a panel of media members.

Morris was named the league’s Player of the Year and Goaltender of the Year. A Hobey Baker Award candidate, Morris is 23-7-1 with a 1.93 goals-against average and a .946 save percentage. He has four shutouts this season.

Morris is a member of the All-Big Ten first team along with senior forward and captain Jake Evans and senior defenseman Jordan Gross. Evans led the Irish in scoring with 38 points (11 goals and 27 assists). Gross had eight goals and 17 assists with 39 blocked shots this season.

Junior forward Andrew Oglevie was one of seven players recognized as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

In addition to Morris’ two awards, the Big Ten coaches and media recognized Ohio State's Steve Rohlik as Coach of the Year, Penn State blueliner Trevor Hamilton as Defensive Player of the Year, and Michigan State right wing Mitchell Lewandowski as Freshman of the Year.

Michigan senior forward Cooper Marody won the league scoring race with 27 points in 24 games.

Joining Evans, Gross and Morris on the All-Big Ten first team were Marody and Ohio State’s Tanner Laczynski. Hamilton and Gross are the defensemen in front of Morris.

The Buckeyes, who finished second to Notre Dame during the regular season, placed three players on the second team in goalie Sean Romeo, defenseman Sash Lacoque and forward Mason Jobst.

Notre Dame and Ohio State will play for the Big Ten Tournament championship Saturday night at 8 on the Lefty Smith Rink in the Compton Family Ice Arena.

Notre Dame's Cale Morris is the Big Ten's Player of the Year.Tribune photo/ROBERT FRANKLIN