Notre Dame recruit Jackie Young nets national honor

ND Insider Staff Report
ND Insider

As the current Notre Dame women’s basketball team has a rare lull before the NCAA Tournament storm, its future continues to make headlines.

Bold headlines.

On Thursday, Irish recruit Jackie Young was named the winner of the Naismith National High School Trophy for girls basketball, putting her in the rarified air of former ND All-American Skylar Diggins.

And one of the other four finalists for the award just happened to be future teammate Erin Boley, a 6-foot-2, forward from Elizabethtown, Ky. Both Young, from Princeton, Ind., and Boley were named Gatorade Player of the Year in their respective states, also on Thursday.

Young, a 5-11 guard, becomes the third ND signee to win the Naismith Trophy in its 29-year history, joining Diggins from South Bend Washington High (2009) and Michelle Marciniak (1991), who finished her college career at Tennessee.

She is Indiana’s all-time leading scorer (3,268 points) for either gender, first breaking former Wawasee standout Shanna Zolman’s girls record, then Bedford-North Lawrence standout Damon Bailey’s mark.  

Young was selected by basketball journalists from around the country who form the Naismith Awards national high school board of selectors.

“Jackie literally has the ability to take over a game like no other player I have ever seen, but she doesn’t want to do that,” Princeton coach Charles Mair said. “She wants to get her teammates involved.

“She is the most unselfish big-time player I have seen in 35 years of coaching varsity girls basketball. When the game is on the line, she has a third gear. It is Jackie time, game over.”

Notre Dame women’s basketball recruit Jackie Young (3) of Princeton (Ind.) High School on Thursday was awarded the Naismith Trophy as the girls basketball National Player of the Year. (Evansville Courier & Press Photo/MIKE LAWRENCE)

2016Jackie YoungPrinceton Community HighPrincetonIN
2015Katie Lou SamulesonMater Dei High SchoolSanta AnaCA
2014A'Ja WilsonHeathwood Hall Episcopal SchoolHopkinsSC
2013Diamond DeShieldsNorcross HSNorcrossGA
2012Breanna StewartCicero North High SchoolSyracuseNY
2011Kaleena Mosqueda-LewisMater Dei High SchoolSanta AnaCA
2010Chiney OgwumikeCypress-FairbanksCypressTX
2009Skylar DigginsWashington HighSouth BendIN
2008Elena Delle DonneUrsuline AcademyWilmingtonDE
2007Maya MooreCollins Hill HighSuwaneeGA
2006Maya MooreCollins Hill HighSuwaneeGA
2005Courtney ParisPiedmont HighPiedmontCA
2004Candace ParkerNaperville CentralNapervilleIL
2003Candace ParkerNaperville CentralNapervilleIL
2002Ann StrotherHighlands Ranch HighHighlands RanchCO
2001Shyra ElyBen Davis HighIndianapolisIN
2000Diana TaurasiDon Lugo HighChinoCA
1999Kara LawsonWest Springfield HighSpringfieldVA
1998Tamika WilliamsChaminade-Julienne HighDaytonOH
1997Tamika CatchingsDuncanville HighDuncanvilleTX
1996Kiesha BrownWoodward AcademyAtlantaGA
1995Chamique HoldsclawChrist the KingMiddle VillageNY
1994Tiffany GoodenSnider HighFt. WayneIN
1993La'Keshia FrettPhoebus HighHamptonVA
1992Yolanda WatkinsDecatur HighDecaturAL
1991Michelle MarciniakCentral Catholic HighAllentownPA
1990Lisa LeslieMorningside HighInglewoodCA
1989Lisa HarrisonSouthern HighLouisvilleKY
1988Vicki HallBrebeuf PrepIndianapolisIN
1987Lynne LorenzenVentura HighVenturaIA