Notre Dame women's basketball tabs Young, Turner as MVPs

ND Insider Staff
ND Insider

SOUTH BEND — Jackie Young and Brianna Turner were saluted Tuesday night as Co-MVPs at the awards ceremony for the Notre Dame women's NCAA Tournament runner-up basketball team.

Young and Turner earned the Monogram Club MVP honor as more than 600 fans attended the annual event held in Purcell Pavilion.

Young, a junior guard, averaged 14.7 points and 7.4 rebounds per game during the 2018-19 campaign. The Indiana native was the No. 1 overall pick in the WNBA Draft on April 10 by Las Vegas.

Turner, a graduate student, averaged 14.3 points and 7.8 rebounds per game. The 6-3 forward from Texas also blocked 109 shots on the season. Turner was the No. 11 overall pick in the draft by Atlanta before she was dealt to Phoenix.

Turner was also honored as the Defensive Player of the Year. 

Senior guard Arike Ogunbowale garnered the Woody Miller Media Award. The Milwaukee native averaged a team-high 21.8 points a game and was drafted No. 5 overall by Dallas.

Sophomore forward Danielle Patterson claimed the Most Improved Award and freshman guard Abby Prohaska was tabbed as the Most Spirited Award recipient. Sophomore guard Nicole Benz picked up the Knute Rockne Student-Athlete Award. Benz also earned the Elite 90 Award at the NCAA Final Four for having the highest GPA of any player at the championship event.

The Irish finished 35-4 overall and 14-2 in Atlantic Coast Conference play. Notre Dame fell to Baylor, 82-81, on April 7, in its bid for a second straight national title.

Notre Dame became just the second program to have all five starters drafted, joining the 2008 Tennessee squad. Seniors Jessica Shepherd and Marina Mabrey were picked No. 16 and No. 19, respectively.

Jackie Young, left, and Brianna Turner were named Co-MVPs for Notre Dame's women's basketball.